A Cabin in Maine

In the early and mid 1970’s my parents owned a cabin on McGrath Pond in Maine. For two or three summers my mother, brother Bill and myself would fly out to Maine and spend about a month there in the summer. Dad would be able to come out for about a week or two depending on his work schedule. I have great memories of these summers with my Wainer ( and a few Knickerbocker) relatives at the cabin. Here’s a few pictures of the cabin and the family.

This is the part of the cabin that faced the lake. The large screened in porch had a huge table for dinner( lots of lobster eaten at that table):

501649370-313050

This is the room where I generally slept while there, next to the huge stone fireplace. The curtain separated the bedroom from the living room.

501649282-152433

Brother Bill and I trying to catch something. My buck teeth/huge overbite is really showing at this point. Not real sure what’s on Bill’s head. I think I learned how to catch whatever this was we were trying to catch from Elmer Fudd.

501649451-133778

This is the beginning of the ‘beach’. From left to right: Uncle Stephen Wainer, Mom, Aunt Dot Wainer, Uncle Bob Knickerbocker,me, Dad, Bill.

501649567-684098

This is Aunt Dot, My mom and Bill on Uncle Stephens boat fishing. ( I love this photo; three of my favorite people)

501649175-910505

Uncle Bob Knickerbocker and Bill on our boat dock with Uncle Steve’s boat looking out over McGrath Pond.

501649732-539481

Leave a Reply

