Helen and Eleanor

For most of the time I knew my Aunts Helen and Eleanor they lived together.  In the 1970’s they had an apartment in Inglewood, CA very close to our house as well as being close to their other sisters: Luella and Mildred. In the 80’s all the sisters and their families moved to Yucaipa, CA ( we didn’t ). They both continued to live together until Helen died in 1986.

Here are a few very early pictures of Helen and Eleanor together when they were very little. The notes on the back of the top picture dates it to sometime around March/April 1905. Helen is the older of the two and is listed as three years old while Eleanor is about three months.

P1_Wainer_007

and

P1_Wainer_008

These images are digitized from the original pictures which are, as of this posting, over 100 years old.

3 thoughts on “Helen and Eleanor

  1. Where did you ever get these, I can see Eleanor in the mouth and Grandma (Helen) in the eyes. When they had the house eleanor lived upstairs as did all of the sisters at one point. I visited them in Yucaipa once, we went thru a box of pictures, old ones and she explained everything, I wonder who got those pictures, my guess would have been luella (nickname Bumby of which I have no idea how she got. Am I able to copy and download these somehow? Thanks Steve, they are great. I loved them both so much. She is the reason I am still here. I was determined to survive the cancer so my grandchildren would no how much their grandmother loved them just like mine did me. She was my role model and taught me how to be the best grandmother.

    1. My mom had these in an album that I sent away to get digitized. You should be able to click on the picture or maybe right-click on the picture and download. If you have problems let me know and I’ll email the to you.

Leave a Reply

