When Two Hobbies Collide

I know, you may be stunned by this admission but if you haven’t guessed, researching my genealogy is a big hobby of mine. I also like to collect books: signed, first editions if at all possible.

I’m much more adept at genealogy because it costs a lot less money.

When I was a kid, I wanted to be an astronaut ( who didn’t? ), which is funny now because I’m terrified of heights and flying. So one of the larger parts ( four books) of my collection are signed editions by the original Mercury 7 astronauts. I’m also a huge Kurt Vonnegut fan and so have a few of his works as well.

Anyway, this year at the Southern California Genealogy Society Conference I got to meet Megan Smolenyak Smolenyak (Yes, that’s her real name) which was very cool for a number of reasons:

1) She’s got Eastern European (Rusyn) ancestors just like me.

2) She’s a real genealogist ( Unlike me).

3) She’s done super-cool genealogy stuff like trace President and Michelle Obama’s roots.

4) She was heavily involved with the show “Who do You Think You Are?” and wrote a book with the same name.

I was able to get a signed copy of  “Who Do You Think Are” and chat a bit with her at the book signing. If you’re interested in genealogy, it’s a fun, informative book and her web sites (linked above) are very informative as well.

2 thoughts on “When Two Hobbies Collide

    1. It is a nice acquisition and thanks for the vote of confidence, but I’m not anywhere close to what a lot of others are doing. It’s a fun hobby though. (as is book collecting)

      Steve

Leave a Reply

