Preserving

My Aunt Luella gave me the Knickerbocker family bible but besides scanning it and showing those scans on my blog, I had no idea what to do with it. (Those scans are here, by the way.) I have no idea how the bible lasted as long as it did ( 174 years and counting!) only to be passed along to me. I really have no idea what will happen to it after I am gone. But it’s special. Special to me, anyway.

It turns out that the New England Historic Genealogical Society(NEHGS) likes to collect things that happen to do with, well,  New England genealogy. I was lucky enough to contact Timothy Salls, one of the archivists there, and he was able to take my images and place them in their special collections department.

Attached is a very nice letter from the NEHGS:

NEGS Letter dated 16 May 2009
NEGS Letter dated 16 May 2009
Leave a Reply

