Family Tree Maker and WordPress

I use Family Tree Maker 2011 as my primary genealogy program and my web software is WordPress. I really like both programs they are very good at what they do.

The problem I’ve always had is moving information from Family Tree Maker to WordPress in a format that I like. Family Tree Maker (FTM) has the capacity to export the genealogies, that show up here on my WordPress blog as web pages, in a number of different formats. The problem is that the formats that FTM exports and that WordPress accepts and then presents to the reader never really did what I wanted to do. It would take me hours of messing about with a HTML file or a RTF document and the presentation would still not be quite right.

Until, well, today.

I found a great feature of WordPress that allows you to use PDF files as web pages. This happens through a third party web site called Scribd. The information of how to use this in WordPress is here.  One of the exports that FTM can perform is to a PDF file. So, I can export the report I want in a PDF format and with a few clicks can have a nicely formatted web page in  WordPress.

Check out one of my new pages here. Much nicer than the old ones and far easier to make

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

