Sniatyn, Galicia Help

I don’t have many readers of my blog for obvious reasons. If you aren’t somehow related to me, chances are that nothing in my blog would matter too much. That’s OK with me.

So, when one of my readers asks me a favor, I figure I pretty much have to comply. Reader Gary asked if I could post some of his pictures and that MAYBE someone somewhere would recognize some of the people in them.

Here’s the first picture:

25 Aug 1935

Sniatyn 25 Aug 1935

Some comments on this picture by Gary:

GW-03: August 25, 1935 (or just prior to), Sniatyn, Poland – Not sure what this group photo is acknowledging, but would like to learn more if anyone can provide a better identification. My father, Nathan Werner is in the top right position. On the reverse side of this photo the pencil descriptions are barely readable. The best I can make out is that the names of some others in this photo may be: Schaffer, Benson, Eldel and other unreadables.

Picture Number two:

Werner Zionist Group Sniatyn

And some more comments by Gary:

GW-04: Zionist Youth Group in Sniatyn. The sign reads “For eternal memory on the occaision of the aliyah of the traditional group the ‘Over Group’ to the land of Israel. Choldah Hochman. My father Natan Werner is sitting in the front row right side. On the reverse side of this photo is the photographer’s stamp – L. Schmitzler.

So, if anyone has any further information about or about the people in these pictures, please post a comment and I’ll get the information to Gary.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kelly Cooper  On April 4, 2014 at 11:27 pm

    I am having a difficult time researching my great grandparents. I know my great grandmother was born in Sniatyn Ukraine on 15 May 1898 but don’t know who her parents were. The family search website doesn’t seem to have what I need. Any other locations to look at?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

